Student and young data journalist portfolio: Yaryna Serkez

Student and young data journalist portfolio: Yaryna Serkez

Organisation: Texty.org.ua (Ukraine)

Publication Date: 04/05/2017

Applicant(s)

Description

I’m a data journalist from Ukraine currently finishing my Master program at the Missouri School of Journalism. I’m a passionate cartographer and an enthusiastic chart maker, but most of all I enjoy revealing stories behind the numbers. As a developer, I advocate compelling storytelling and strive for in depth data analysis and innovative approaches. As a designer, I value straightforward design and seamless user experience across all platforms. As a reporter, I favor addressing tough issues. The scope of my projects varies from the remote sensing environmental reporting to propaganda analysis. I enjoy working on the ambitious projects which usually results in an engaging story for readers and a unique learning opportunity for me.

What makes this project innovative? What was its impact?