Individual Portfolio: Patrick Stotz

Individual Portfolio: Patrick Stotz

Organisation: Spiegel Online (Germany)

Publication Date: 04/06/2017

Applicant(s)

Size of team/newsroom:large

Description

I'm a data journalist at Spiegel Online since 2015. Working in a rather small team is a constant challenge of your skills and abilities. During the past year I've covered a huge range of topics and have worked on every bit from data collection through analyzing and visualizing data to building dataviz front-ends and writing stories. These are the 10 Stories I'd like to pitch as my portfolio (links in additional link section): - How global warming will affect alpine ski resorts - Visualizing football games with passmaps - A visual history of political majorities in the US - Terrorism since 1970 in a global perspective - Mapping German dialects with crowd-sourced data - Your chances to win gold at the olympics - Euros for doctors - The market value of all EURO2016 players & squads - Germany's federal transport infrastructure plan - How terrorist attacks affect tourism

What makes this project innovative? What was its impact?